Baking Bread (38), Lasagne and a Pie

Time to stock up before the next holidays hit us! I went into a baking frenzy… The oven was on for a good four hours…

I made Paul Hollywood’s Bloomer (fifth time this year!) for Mister Meike’s Kitchen. It’s his favourite bread, what can I do? I wasn’t happy with the rise but the bread turned out absolutely fine.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3234.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3235.jpg

Then it was time for lunch and I had already roasted and pureed a hokkaido pumpkin. I wanted to try out this Pumpkin Lasagne. It is a wonderful recipe, a very elegant pumpkin recipe.

There is a pumpkin-parmesan-cream mix:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3236.jpg

A spinach-and-onion layer:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3237.jpg

And a pumpkin-and-cream “sauce” for the top:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3238.jpg

I didn’t really get a good picture of the finished dish so you’ll have to make do with this, the leftovers on a messy plate:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3240.jpg

Make it! I think that’s the best way I have ever eaten pumpkin in a savoury dish.

In between all this I was also making Dan Lepard’s Alsace Loaf again (fourth time this year…). The recipe can be found here while I’m still working out on how best to make it. My sourdough starter is much wetter than his. I’m getting there though. I made double the quantity but instead of shaping it into sticks (that should have made ten), I made two proper loaves.

Here’s the better looking one:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3242.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3241.jpg

It’s my favourite bread. I love how the grains give it texture and at the same time keep it wonderfully moist.

And now for the pie. This is our New Year’s Even tradition. I’ve actually made it for the seventh time this year. It’s Mrs Whitlow’s Artery-Hardening Hogswatch Pie from Terry Pratchett’s Nanny Ogg’s Cookbook. It’s on page 30 of this PDF.

I only make half the quantity because it’s enough for us. And since Master Meike’s Kitchen has been eating proper food, I’ve made it without the port for the stock. I’ve also experimented with different seasonings for the minced pork over the years and it works also with cayenne and paprika and Italian herbs. I also sometimes put a layer of bacon between the pastry and the filling – if I don’t forget that I’ve bought bacon specifically for that…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/089/62211640/files/2014/12/img_3243.jpg

The pie is made the day before so the stock can set; therefore I can’t show you yet what it looks like inside, can’t reveal the meat feast… You’ll have to wait until next year for that.

Enjoy the last 26 and a bit hours (Central European time…) of 2014!

One thought on “Baking Bread (38), Lasagne and a Pie

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Pound Cake | Meike's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

