Buns and Cookies

I’m really in holiday mode. When we were planning this stay and Mister Meike’s Kitchen asked for a shopping list to stock up cupboards and freezer, I very ambitiously included bread flour and yeast. I mean if I can bake bread at home, surely I can do it on my holidays when there’s not much else to do?!

Wrong. Oh so wrong!

I’ve completely lost my bread baking mojo. I was going to make some burger buns – we had some lovely beef burgers with huge chunks of red onion and grated Red Leicester from the local butcher’s. It all sounded and looked really good in my head and the beginnings were promising:

IMG_2548.JPG

IMG_2549.JPG

IMG_2550.JPG
Since I’ve got an airing cupboard here, I thought that’s where the dough should go to rise. It didn’t. I don’t know where I went wrong but it just would not rise. I had put too much salt in it since my scales here aren’t very precise. It looked too much but I put it in anyway (note to self: trust your instincts!).

IMG_2551.JPG
The buns came out flatter than crumpets and too salty to be edible. Otherwise we were going to try and toast them but unfortunately had to bin them. And the burgers? We had them as they were with baked beans.

Here is the recipe for the buns, if you want to see if you’ve got more luck than me.

And then I needed to successfully bake something or I’d doubt myself… I think while we’re here I’ll stick to cookies. They’re more forgiving…

The kids and I made Oat & Raisin Choc Chip Cookies. I more or less used this recipe but changed some of the quantities and ingredients around a bit so we ended up with this:

Ingredients:
120g butter
80g caster sugar
1 egg
90g flour – possibly self-raising
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
75g porridge oats
125g raisins
50g white chocolate, chopped up
50g dark chocolate, chopped up

Method:
Cream the butter, then add the sugar. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the egg. Incorporate fully. Stir in the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.*
Then add the oats, raisins and chocolate.
Cover the bowl with clingfilm and put in the fridge for at least two hours or even overnight.
Preheat the oven to 180°C.
Roll about 1 1/2 tbsp of dough into a ball, put onto a baking tray that’s been lined with baking parchment and flatten with the palm of your hand.
Bake for 10-12 minutes but keep your eyes on them!
Leave on the baking tray for a few minutes to firm up before removing onto a wire rack to cool.

* I used a wooden spoon.

IMG_2552.JPG

IMG_2553.JPG

A couple of days later we made just Oat & Raisin Cookies, using my recipe adapted to the ingredients available: no two different sugars, no wholemeal flour, no vanilla essence and no cornstarch. They came out fine.

IMG_2554.JPG

IMG_2555.JPG

Leave a Reply

