Chicken Pie and Cookies

I haven’t forgotten…

I have done some baking but not a lot. And since I’m kind of on holiday I’ve not baked any bread but we’re buying at the moment. There’s a nice little bakery in a village nearby… They actually bake on the premises so I don’t feel too bad about it…

The whole story is a bit long but our flat was rented out for a year and it’s just been done up and is getting furnished again. I have to improvise in the kitchen a bit when I notice while making something that I haven’t got certain equipment at hand.

This was the case with this Chicken Pie. I made pastry. Now Mr Meike’s Kitchen had stocked the kitchen after I sent him a shopping list. He’d decanted flour into a container and labelled it “self-raising” but there is also another, closed bag of self-raising flour. One of them was meant to be plain… So I’m using the open one as plain, in the hope that it’s right…

I had found a recipe for a Chicken Pot Pie here which I used as a guide to make my own.

Ingredients for the pastry:
360g flour – which may, or may not, be self-raising
1 tsp salt
250g butter
1 egg
2 tbsp cold water
1 sprig of rosemary

I had to roll out the pastry with a pint glass as there was no rolling pin… I used about two thirds for the base and somehow got it into a baking tray… I blind baked it at 200°C (although I’m not sure whether our oven here is accurate) for 10 minutes.

I didn’t get to eat the pie when it first came out of the oven. When I had some the next day, it was soft (I don’t want to say it was soggy…) but it was tasty.

IMG_2472-0.JPG

Ingredients for the Filling:
The meat of about one and a third roast chicken
A colander full of frozen mixed veg
Olive oil and butter
Flour
Milk and water
Salt, pepper, cayenne pepper
A sprig of rosemary

I took the veg out before I started making the sauce in order to let it thaw a bit. The sauce was just a simple thick white sauce to coat the chicken and veg. I stirred it together the best I could and spread it over the pastry base before covering it with the remaining pastry.

Bake for half an hour at 200°C.

IMG_2473.JPG

The men in the house liked it and that’s good enough for me.

We’ve done some culture since getting to Leicester, dragging the kids to Newarke House Museum and to New Walk Museum.

IMG_2475.JPG

Making cookies with the kids is a good idea when the weather isn’t great. So the other day, when Miss Meike’s Kitchen was busy lining up matchbox cars on the lowboard, Master Meike’s Kitchen and I made Double Choc Chip Cookies. He did a very good job chopping some dwrk and white chocolate. I was very impressed.

IMG_2477.JPG

IMG_2476.JPG

We used my cookies recipe but used self-raising flour (due to no baking powder in the cupboard), only caster sugar and no vanilla. The dark chocolate unfortunately dominated the white and I really should have thought of that but I suppose they added to the flavour so it’s ok.

IMG_2478.JPG

IMG_2479.JPG

The cookies were dark at the bottom and pale on top but they went from this

IMG_2480.JPG
to this

IMG_2481.JPG
overnight…

Leave a Reply

