Baking Bread 31

I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea to make my day that little bit more stressful by doing some baking. We’ll be traveling to England tomorrow, all four of us, for nearly four weeks. You’d think I’ve got enough on my plate as it is. Actually, I originally was going to make cookies for the journey… Even more work!

In order to have enough bread for today and the morning and some in the freezer for our return, I needed to make another loaf and I opted for a small one from Dan Lepard’s The Handmade Loaf, a Sunflower Bread. The recipe is available here. I substituted part of the sunflower seeds with flax seeds (normal and golden). It tastes fine but it turned out a little bit on the heavy side. I think I added too much water so the loaf is actually a bit stodgy. And it could have done with a longer rise but I didn’t have the required amount of yeast either so that probably didn’t help.
IMG_2449.JPG

IMG_2446.JPG

It’s a shame because the loaf in the book looks rather tasty:

IMG_2448.JPG

I also made Dan’s Spotted Soda Loaf, I’ve made it a few times now (first time here) and it’s always turned out nicely. This time I substituted the Golden Syrup with honey and I think this is even nicer! Shame you can’t see that from the pictures!

IMG_2450.JPG

IMG_2452.JPG

IMG_2451.JPG

Leave a Reply

