Baking Bread 24 and Cinnamon-Cardamom-Buns

I put in a baking day yesterday. And since Miss Meike’s Kitchen got me up at five in the morning, I started at twenty past six… I’m turning into a proper baker, soon I’ll get up at 2 am to do my baking… 😉

Anyway, I gave this Roggensauerteigbrot (rye sourdough bread) another go, after my first attempt ended in a not-so-nice loaf. This time I had the flour required at hand and so I stuck to the recipe. It turned out rather well.

IMG_2033.JPG
I left the bread as recommended in the recipe for 12 hours before slicing and it was so incredibly moist that it completely clogged up the blade of my mother’s electric slicing machine. The taste is fantastic and it feels slightly squidgy. Mister Meike’s Kitchen found it too nutty but that’s why he’s got his own bread…

IMG_2034.JPG

And his own bread is, once again, a Wiener Brot (Viennese Bread). What can I say? It turned out well. He’s happy.

IMG_2035.JPG
I probably should have scored it a bit deeper but by that time, Miss Meike’s Kitchen had decided to “help” and was busy poking the loaf with her fingers… I also think that I sliced it too early, it could have done with being left a bit longer.

IMG_2036.JPG

And since all this wasn’t enough work, I made some Cinnamon-Cardamom-Buns. I have tried out these Overnight Cinnamon Buns before, as well as these Cinnamon-Cardamom-Buns. I sort of merged them now. I used the recipe for the Overnight Cinnamon Buns as my base but added two teaspoons of ground cardamom (sugar reduced by a third, as always). For the filling, I halved the amount of cinnamon but think it needs to reduced down further. This time I didn’t let the buns rise overnight but just left the dough rise for two hours and let the buns prove for 30 minutes before baking as is the method for the Cinnamon-Cardamom-Buns. I forgot to brush the rolled out dough with melted butter before sprinkling the filling over it so it shouldn’t have come as a surprise that a lot of it came out when I was rolling up the dough. I haven’t made up my mind yet whether I prefer the melted butter method or the cinnamon mixed into soft butter. I’ll have to mull that one over. I sprinkled the “lost” filling over the buns for baking and it turned beautifully caramelly. I left out the frosting because the buns are sticky enough as they are and it’s easier for the kids to eat them without.

IMG_2037.JPG

That was about five hours of intermittent bursts of baking activity and it was well worth it!

Leave a Reply

