Date Crunchy Dessert Pots & Zucchini Brownies

Dessert. Always have one with our midday meal, mostly just smallish portions, often containing fruit or yogurt, that sort of thing.

The other day, I made Date Crunchy Dessert Pots. I took a recipe for Date Crunchies, took it apart and put it back together again. (Basically, I deconstructed it in a lot more words…)

The recipe is from a colleague at the Scope home where I used to work (I’ve mentioned that a few times now). The lady used to work only weekends but lived round the corner from me and she gave me a couple of her family favourites.

Nan Nash’s Date Crunchies

200g chopped dates
2 tbsp water
1 tbsp clear honey

Simmer the dates, water and honey in a saucepan until the dates are soft.

225g flour
60g brown sugar
115g rolled oats
140g (or more) melted butter (depends how crumbly the mix is)

Put flour, sugar and oats in a bowl and mix together. Add melted butter and mix well.

And now we diverge heavily from the original idea of the Date Crunchies…

Preheat the oven to 175°C. Spread the oat mix like streusel on a baking tray and bake for about 25 minutes. Keep an eye on them that they don’t get burnt. Take out of the oven and let cool.

20140801-154310-56590832.jpg

Meanwhile, the dates have cooked to mush and have also cooled down a bit. Add a 150g pot of natural yogurt. Stir well.

To assemble: In a bowl, cup, glass or whatever takes your fancy, put first a layer of crumbs, then cover with the date mix.

20140801-154509-56709092.jpg

Add more streusel on top and enjoy! It’s nice while it’s still a bit warm but also rather nice chilled.

20140801-154601-56761306.jpg

And today I made Zucchini Brownies. I’ve been collecting zucchini recipes for some time since we usually end up with a glut of them at some point during the summer. I’ve never tried baking with them so I thought I’d give it a go. I found this recipe on the I am baker blog. I’ve got zucchini portions for the other two recipes lined up in the freezer too so we’ll get to them in due course. I reduced the sugar by about half and I think that was a bit too much, I should have stuck to my usual third. The brownie is quite crumbly but wonderfully chocolaty with a moist centre (despite being crumbly, if you know what I mean). We had some warm with vanilla ice cream on top and that was lovely. On their own, they might be just a tad too dry. And, in case the addition of zucchini worries you, you can’t taste it all nor can you see it.

20140801-160047-57647502.jpg

20140801-160047-57647327.jpg

Leave a Reply

