Baking Bread 15, a Cake and Cookies

It’s not as if I haven’t baked anything for weeks and it’s not that I’ve forgotten to blog (blag?) about it either. I wrote a post about 10 days ago, then accidentally deleted all of it (bar one link…) – and then mayhem started. Miss Meike’s Kitchen threw up every hour from 9pm to 5am and didn’t sleep one bit in between. Master Meike’s Kitchen did the same two days later and in between I managed to get a panic attack. It wasn’t much fun but we all survived, I’m pleased to report.

So before things started to go wrong, I made two types of bread, a rhubarb cake and cookies.

I made a Rye-Spelt-Flax Seed Sourdough Bread that I based on the Roggenmischbrot I told you about here, which in turn was made following this recipe. It turned out rather nicely even though I didn’t use enough salt at the time, I’ve made a similar bread again in the meantime (post to follow!) and I’ve put the right amount in the recipe here.

Ingredients:
175g dark rye flour
175g light rye flour
210g spelt flour
100g flax seeds, coarsely ground
1 sachet dried yeast
1/2 tsp sugar
20g salt
300ml water
Sourdough made from starter plus 375g rye flour and 300ml warm water, left covered for about 12 hours)

Method:
Mix the flours and the linseed in a bowl.
Add the yeast to one side, the sugar and salt to another. Add the water and start mixing it together. Then add the sourdough and mix well.
Cover and leave to rise for about 30 minutes.
Dump the dough onto a baking sheet in roughly a round loaf shape (let’s not pretend this dough is in any way shapeable, it isn’t, just dump it). Dust with flour, cover with a tea towel and leave to rise for an hour (not longer!).
Preheat the oven to 225°C, pour two or three cups of water into a small baking tray and bake your bread for about 70 minutes.
Let the bread cool on a wire rack, then wrap it into a plastic bag and leave for 48 hours before slicing.
It’s all worth it!

20140606-192828-70108004.jpg

I also made a so-calledEnglish Tea Bread. It was for Mister Meike’s Kitchen so therefore it was a white wheat loaf, an enriched dough with melted butter and milk. I wasn’t that pleased with it because it turned out a bit soggy at the bottom and it is rather dense. (I prefer the Viennese Bread I’ve made quite a few times.) This bread also gets an egg-wash and I thought I wouldn’t waste the egg so I gave it a couple of coats, including an extra one after the loaf had been in the oven for a bit. Well, it tastes like it’s got a very thin omelette on top… 😉

20140606-193343-70423388.jpg

20140606-193343-70423221.jpg

I made a Hardwick Hall Rhubarb Cake but because I’m still fiddling with the recipe I won’t include my version (yet). Suffice to say, I’ve reduced the sugar and I’ve upped the amount of fruit. However my last cake was too soggy and dense. I think my stewed rhubarb was just too wet, I should have drained off some of the liquid. This screwed up the cooking time and I took the cake out too early, then had to put it back in the oven covered with foil. Oh, it was a disaster.
The original recipe is nice, I have actually made it exactly like that (well, with less sugar) before I started putting more fruit in (you can find it on the National Trust’s website). And I’ve got a note on my scrap paper with the recipe on that says it also works with apples and cinnamon. There you go.

Finally, some cookies. I call these Espresso Choc Chocolate Cookies. They are awesome. I used my normal cookie recipe which I copied from the cook at the Scope home where I used to work. (Oh yes, that was a rather culinary employment… which I’ve mentioned a few times before.) And then I threw in some Espresso chocolate, oh yes. They are quite grown-up cookies and definitely not for sharing. I didn’t anyway…

Ingredients:
140g plain flour (I used spelt because I’ve run out of wheat flour)
1 tsp baking powder
130g soft butter
60 g brown sugar
40g caster sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1 egg
30 g cocoa powder
1 100g bar Espresso chocolate

Method:
Mix all the ingredients together.
Line 2 baking trays with baking parchment.
Preheat the oven to 190°C.
Place tablespoonfuls of the mixture on the baking trays, spacing them well apart to allow for spreading.
Bake for 10-12 minutes. Leave to cool on the tray for a couple of minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

20140606-194324-71004255.jpg

20140606-194324-71004411.jpg

I took that picture just after I’d taken them out of the oven.
These cookies are lovely whilst still warm or, when cooled, with a nice glass of cold milk. Yum.

2 thoughts on “Baking Bread 15, a Cake and Cookies

  1. Pingback: Baking Bread 16 | Meike's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Chicken Pie and Cookies | Meike's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

