Quick Rolls

20140517-205035.jpg

You know I’m not one to shy away from long proving times (overnight in the fridge? Bring it on!) but I find these quick bakes rather interesting.

Today I was making Carrot and Lentil Soup for lunch and rolls always go nice with soup. I find it really difficult to buy baked goods these days (ain’t I silly?) so homemade rolls were an idea and it was an opportunity to try out a quick method. I found a recipe for 30 minute rolls. They aren’t, in fact, 30 minute rolls at all since resting, proving and baking takes 35 minutes but I’m going to ignore that. I started tinkering with the recipe before I even started so here goes:

Ingredients:
236g warm water
61g oil
1 sachet dried yeast
25-50g sugar*
7g salt
1 egg
500g flour**

Method:
Combine water, oil, yeast and sugar in a large bowl. Leave to stand for 15 minutes.
Mix into the yeast mix the salt, egg and about half the flour until it’s all combined. Now add the remaining flour in three steps, mixing after each addition. Knead the dough until it’s smooth.
Divide the dough into 12 bits. Shape them into balls. Put them on a lined baking tray, cover with a tea towel and let rest for 10 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 200°C.
Bake for 10 minutes.

+++ Two things I’m considering at this point for next time: (1) brushing the rolls with water, milk, melted butter or egg wash to give them a bit of a crust and a sheen and (2) baking them with steam or at a higher temperature. +++

* 50g sugar give you quite sweet rolls – more suitable for breakfast. It happen to work out well with our soup so it wasn’t a drama. If I make them again to go with a savoury dish, I’ll use only half the amount.

** The original recipe only requires 435g flour. I had to add quite a lot to get a manageable dough. Of course it also depends on your flour but I’d say 500 is about right, just add it carefully and use more if necessary.

20140517-205029.jpg

20140517-205041.jpg

2 thoughts on “Quick Rolls

Leave a Reply

