Malted Cookies & Raisin and Cinnamon Loaf

I did mention in my last post that I had already planned out the next day’s baking. Here it is.

I have been intrigued for quite some time by the idea of Malted Cookies. I’m a secret lover of Horlicks, you see, so I’ve been wondering how it would taste in a cookie. I came across Cookies & Cups’ Soft Malted Chocolate Chip Cookies and decided that would be my template. I left out the chocolate and just make Malted Cookies and I was rather impressed. They were super chewy and really nice. Definitely a keeper. I reduced the amount of sugar but they were still too sweet in my opinion. I suppose that also depends on the malted milk powder you use. I’m not a fan of light products in general but for some reason Horlicks Light is nicer than the standard variety. So that’s what I used even though I read elsewhere that the light varieties usually contain less malt but I had a look on the Horlicks website and this doesn’t seem to be the case here. By the way, I’m not getting paid by Horlicks in any shape or form… A shame really…

Ingredients:
130g flour (I used spelt, I’d run out of wheat)
80g Horlicks (or other malted milk powder)
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cornstarch
114g butter, melted
100g (or less?) brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tbsp vanilla

Method:
Whisk together flour, Horlicks, baking powder, salt and cornstarch.
Combine the butter and sugar, then add the egg and vanilla.
Stir the butter mix into the dry ingredients. Combine.
Chill the dough for 2 hours, or up to 3 days (you can see now why this recipe appeals to me!).
I used my large teaspoon to measure out the dough, the original recipe asks for 2 tablespoons which I thought a bit excessive. Form the dough into balls and put them on a lined baking tray.
Preheat the oven to 175°C and bake the cookies for about 12 minutes. Leave to cool in the baking tray for 3 minutes before transferring onto a wire rack to cool completely. (Or try them while still warm – yum!)

20140517-194917.jpg

The Raisin and Cinnamon Loaf is a recipe from Dan Lepard’s The Handmade Loaf, which I got for my birthday – hooray! 🙂
Other people have blogged about this recipe before (here, here and here, for example – and they all got much nicer pictures than me…) and some of the points I’m going to raise about this have been raised on these blogs. It’s a lovely taste but mine turned out quite dense (I had to substitute some of the flours so it was my own fault). It was good fun to make the hole in the middle of the dough using my elbow. I had never thought of that myself and was a bit sceptical but it worked a treat. I didn’t push the raisins in after I’d formed the loaf and it had risen again so I ended up with loads of burnt black balls. They’re so not nice, they taste really bitter. Since the whole loaf ended up a bit on the burnt side (even though I’d covered it with tin foil after half [!!!] the baking time), that’s kind of the theme running through this. I’ll definitely try this one again when I’ve stocked up on flours and read the other blog posts mentioned above to find remedies for the flaws. I should have done this before really but didn’t anticipate any of this.

20140517-200911.jpg

20140517-200932.jpg

20140517-200939.jpg

20140517-200945.jpg

3 thoughts on “Malted Cookies & Raisin and Cinnamon Loaf

  1. Pingback: Baking Bread 19 | Meike's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

