Rhubarb Cake

20140509-232730.jpg

Fail! It’s great when you realise just after baking that the recipe is for a larger tin than the one you own and it would have made perfect sense to scale it down a bit but no. Oh no.

Anyways, I tried out this recipe and the Rhubarb-Sour Cream Cake tastes really nice. It makes a change from the rhubarb meringue pies… I actually didn’t change anything, even used the original quantities of sugar since the kiddiewinks aren’t too keen on rhubarb when it tastes too sour. Fair enough, I suppose.

20140509-232745.jpg

Unfortunately the cake looks like a giant Yorkshire pudding in the picture above. Trust me, it didn’t look much better in real life. I don’t know why it burned – I’d covered it with foil halfway through baking because it was getting too dark. (And then I didn’t check it again because, you know, I’d covered it with foil…) Maybe Miss Meike’s Kitchen turned the oven up and I didn’t notice but I don’t think so. And then bits of the crust on the side of the cake stuck to the tin and so the cake collapsed a bit on one side, leaving it lopsided… Not my day!

20140509-233107.jpg

It wasn’t the best looking cake and it didn’t look anything like the one in pictures in the other blog but it tasted nice. So for next time, I shall scale the quantities of the ingredients down to fit a smaller tin and I shall definitely keep a closer eye on the cake during baking. Let’s keep our fingers crossed that I don’t forget… 🙂

Leave a Reply

