Muesli-Bread Buns

I thought I’d be clever. I had some fresh yeast left over from last week’s bread baking session and needed to work out what to do with it before it goes off. That had happened not long before and I blame it for killing my sourdough starter, the unforgettable Sinbad I. I didn’t want to do lots of maths and convert a recipe to the amount of yeast I had left so I looked for one that required – more or less – the amount that I had.

I came across the recipe for the Muesli Bread that I made a couple of months ago and I thought it might be an idea to shape it into buns instead of loaves. I didn’t put the fruit and nuts into the dough but let it rise without before rolling it out into a rectangle. I brushed the dough with egg wash, spread the fruit and nut mix on top and added cinnamon and brown sugar. I wanted them to be suitable for dessert so wanted them to be sweeter. I also sprinkled some brown sugar on top of the buns before baking.

They came out quite nice but I was a bit disappointed – I didn’t think they were sweet enough (now that’s something you normally don’t hear from me!). I had contemplated spreading some jam on the dough before adding the filling but with hindsight it would probably have been a better option. Or I should have made the dough sweeter. Or used a different dough altogether, maybe the one I used for these Hefe-Schnecken.

Well, I did what I set out to do – which was using up the fresh yeast. But really it was a bit of a half-baked attempt. Could have done better.

20140508-194851.jpg

2 thoughts on “Muesli-Bread Buns

Leave a Reply

