Baking Bread 7

Time to bake bread for the freezer again!
This time I was really in the mood for sunflower seeds so I made two types of bread using them in both.
I kind of overmultitasked today and got myself into a bit of a muddle. The results, however, do not reflect that. 🙂

I didn’t have much time so I decided to try out a Blitz-Brot. You all know the term Blitzkrieg so you can imagine what a fast bread this might be. I was sceptical – no kneading, no rising, no proving. But it worked out rather well. You dissolve fresh yeast (42g) in 450ml lukewarm water and throw in the other ingredients (250g whole spelt flour, 250g whole wheat flour, 75g sunflower seeds, 75g sesame seeds, 10g salt, 2tbsp lemon juice), mix it and put into a greased loaf tin (30cm length). The original recipe wanted the seeds on top. I did that and most fell off. So next time, they’ll go into the dough with a few on top because it looks nice… Anyway, now the tin goes into the cold oven. Turn it on to 200°C and bake for 60 minutes. It was amazing to watch the loaf rise! Then take the bread out of the tin and bake without for a further 10 minutes. It looks lovely and fluffy. It tastes fine but I think with the seeds inside it’ll be even better.

    20140218-211921.jpg

My second bread of the day was a sunflower seed bread with yeast and sourdough. I’ve made it before and it’s got a lovely taste and it’s another recipe that doesn’t take ages. I know the whole point about baking bread is that you need to take your time but sometimes there need to be shortcuts… 😉 I found this recipe on the back of a pack of flour but it’s not on the mill’s website so here it goes: Mix 650g strong wheat flour with 350g strong rye flour, 10g fast acting yeast (or 2 sachets dry yeast), 35g sourdough, 20g salt, ca. 800ml lukewarm water and 150g sunflower seeds until you get a smooth dough. Leave to rise for 30 minutes. Shape two equal-sized loaves and put the into bannetons (or anything, a bowl, a basket, that can do the same job) for 15 minutes. Turn out onto a baking tray, lined with greaseproof paper, and sprinkle water onto the tray. Bake in a preheated oven at 250°C for 15 minutes and at 200°C for 35 minutes. I didn’t have any patience with my breads today so they were rather rough in shape. The taste, however, is great.

    20140218-213546.jpg

And here are two sample slices, the Blitzbrot is on the left, the sunflower seed bread on the right:

    20140218-213709.jpg
Leave a Reply

