A non-baked aside… Marmalade

    20140208-212521.jpg

I made marmalade for the first time last year, using just 5 bitter oranges making 5 jars. So I thought I’ll do it again this year buuuuuuut I ended up with 11 bitter oranges, more than one and a half kilos and it was a lot of work. I was so proud of my fine cut peel last year but I couldn’t face chopping up the peel of 11 oranges so I ended up using Monsieur Moulinex. The result wasn’t as good as I expected so next year I’ll go back to five oranges and chopping by hand. I mean what am I going to do with 14 jars of marmalade?!? It’s mental. Since this is the sort of stuff I do to relax (?!) in the evening once the kids are in bed, I didn’t get much relaxation out of this one. Last night I was finished after cleaning up gone 11pm… Not my idea of spending a Friday night but there you go.
I’ve already thought of ways to use up some of that marmalade: sponge sandwiches or that Buccaneer Shortbread I mentioned last time could work really well with a layer of marmalade between the shortbread and the caramel. We’ll see.

    20140208-212532.jpg

    20140208-212440.jpg

Leave a Reply

